Home > Latest News
China Elected to the UN Human Rights Council

China was elected as member of the new UN Human Rights Council on 9 May 2006, and pledged to help reinforce efforts to promote and protect human rights worldwide.

Sixty-four countries, including China, were running for the 47 seats on the new U.N. Human Rights Council in election in the U.N. General Assembly. The Chinese government has always been dedicated to the promotion and protection of human rights and basic freedoms and has participated in international dialogue and cooperation on human rights. The government supports the council's efforts at handling human rights issues fairly, objectively and impartially, and in promoting constructive dialogue and cooperation among different civilizations, cultures and religions.

Under U.N. rules, to ensure global representation, Africa and Asia each has 13 seats; Latin America and the Caribbean eight seats; Western Europe (including the North American and Oceanian developed nations), seven; and Eastern Europe, six.

After three rounds of secret voting, the UN General Assembly elected the 47 members of the newly established Human Rights Council to replace the much criticized and now defunct Human Rights Commission.

Under a resolution adopted by the assembly on March 15, the members of the new rights body are banned from immediate re-election after two successive three-year terms. But it also stipulates that each year a certain number of the members should be changed.

The Human Rights Council is scheduled to hold its first meeting in Geneva on June 19.



List of 47 elected members on Human Rights Council

Africa (13 seats)

one-year term: Algeria, South Africa, Tunisia and Morocco

two-year term: Gabon, Ghana, Mali and Zambia

three-year term: Cameroon, Djibouti, Mauritius, Nigeria and Senegal


Asia (13 seats)

one-year term: Bahrain, India, Indonesia and the Philippines

two-year term: Pakistan, South Korea, Japan and Sri Lanka

three-year term: Bangladesh, China, Jordan, Malaysia and Saudi Arabia


Eastern Europe (6 seats)

one-year term: the Czech Republic and Poland

two-year term: Ukraine and Romania

three-year term: Azerbaijan and Russia


Latin America and the Caribbean (8 seats)

one-year term: Argentina and Ecuador

two-year term: Brazil, Peru and Guatemala

three-year term: Cuba, Mexico and Uruguay


Western Europe and other developed nations (7 seats)

one-year term: Finland and the Netherlands

two-year term: Britain and France            

three-year term: Canada, Germany and Switzerland


Suggest To A Friend